AGRA opens calls for applications for the Value4Her Women Agripreneur of the Year Awards (WAYA) 2024.


Applications are open for the prestigious Women Agripreneur of the Year Awards (WAYA) 2024 Awards, which is a Value4Her flagship award scheme. WAYA recognizes African female agripreneurs demonstrating remarkable innovation and business excellence in agricultural value chains. This year WAYA seeks to attract applications from all African countries, over and above the countries AGRA is actively present in.

The Women Agripreneur of the Year Awards have been held consecutively since 2021. Since its inception, the awards have had the following categories namely; Young Female Agripreneur of the Year, Female Agriculture Tech Innovator of the Year, Outstanding Value Adding Enterprise of the Year and, The coveted Grand Prize Winner being the overall winner of the competition. Beginning 2024, AGRA has introduced two new exciting award categories bringing the total number of award categories to 6 namely:

  • Young Female Agripreneur of the Year
  • Female Agriculture Tech Innovator of the Year
  • Outstanding Value Adding Enterprise
  • Women Empowerment Champion and,
  • Resilient & Inspirational Leader.
  • Grand Prize Winner.

Over the years, WAYA has celebrated extraordinary women agripreneurs who have demonstrated innovation and leadership across various categories. From the Young Female Agripreneur category that acknowledges rising stars to the Female Ag-Tech Innovator category championing technological advancement, WAYA covers the spectrum of agribusiness excellence. Winners receive not only prestigious recognition but also substantial financial support. Notable past winners include Siny Samba, Lucy Chioma Aniagolu, Maryanne Ruguru Gichanga, and Bernice Dapaah, each contributing to reshaping the narrative of women’s contributions in agriculture.

Applicants interested in WAYA 2024 can be part of this opportunity by sending in their submissions to WAYA. The entry submission process involves:

  • Applicants registering or logging in to their WAYA accounts.
  • After logging in, the next step is the start entry page which includes details on the award categories and the eligibility details for applicants.
  • Once the applicants have reviewed the application information and confirmed eligibility, they can start applying.
  • The next steps include choosing the award categories, inputting specific business details that are required, and finally submitting the entry.
  • Applicants can apply for as many award categories that they feel their businesses are relevant to.

Applicants should note that the awards are for Value4Her members only. By submitting their entries, applicants will receive an invitation email to activate their accounts within 15 minutes of submission. Activating the account will enable applicants to receive updates on the status of their entries.

The application deadline for WAYA 2024 is 31st May 2024.